ISKO hits Berlin for the exciting Final Award Ceremony of ISKO I-SKOOL™ 6

(c) 2019 ISKO
On July 3rd, the top-class international Denim Design competition announced its latest edition’s winners with a high-profile event at Glashaus. The industry’s most influential people gathered to celebrate New Denim Codes enjoying an entertaining fashion show and party. Special host for the night: acclaimed actor Matthew Modine.

The ISKO I-SKOOL™ Grand Finale, held for the first time ever in Berlin, was all about celebrating young denim talent. On July 3rd, Glashaus – one of the German capital’s most beautiful historical locations – was the setting to a night where this year’s winners were announced in the presence of fashion international experts and top personalities.

Promoted by ISKO™, leading denim ingredient brand, and carried out with the help of its style and research division Creative Room™, ISKO I-SKOOL™ saw its sixth edition crowned with a unique tribute to the Creative Theme.

Defining the New Denim Codes

Launched in January 2019 at the international trade show Premium Exhibition in Berlin, the project’s Creative Theme “New Denim Codes” challenged the designers’ creativity to explore a novel perception of the body, developing the right fit for any shape or form.

A first in the history of the program, this edition welcomed participation by Denim Design Professionals in the early stages of their careers, in addition to Students in their final year of a Fashion Design BA or MA. Designers were asked to start from focusing on the body as inspiration, along with a market and target consumer analysis. They then worked on their own vision of the future of fit.

They had to go beyond the creation of a single outfit, designing a complete Capsule Collection by selecting some of the most advanced ISKOTM denim fabrics and patented technologies.

A panel of influential jurors

On July 2nd, the Denim Design Jury – an authoritative panel of Creative and Technical experts – came together to evaluate the 17 designers’ projects and elect the winners of this year’s edition.

The diversity of these emerging New Denim Codes, the variety of body types and the different facets of our society were echoed in many aspects of the evening’s concept and performances, through a mix of elements and materials.

Creative Jury:

Costa Francisco – Former Creative Director at Calvin Klein, Founder of sustainable beauty brand Costa Brazil

De Castro Orsola – Founder and Creative Director at Fashion Revolution

Falcioni Marco – Senior Head of Design BOSS Men’s Casualwear

Johnson Miles – Former Creative Director at Patagonia and Levi Strauss, Freelance Design Director

Kuhnl Sabine – Editor-in-Chief at Sportswear International

Maino Sara – Deputy Editor of Vogue Italia and Head of Vogue Talents

Margrander Kai – Fashion Director at Harper’s Bazaar Germany

Rigoni Alberto – Washing and Treatments Quality Control Manager at Replay

Testino Marina – Designer, Founder of Point Off View, Parsons graduate, Influencer, Model

Technical Jury:

Berto Alessio – The Tailor Pattern Support

Diacci Paolo – Reca Group

Montonati Nantas and Lucietto Otello – Riri Group Ozturk Hale Bahar and Carey Tricia – Lenzing Group Zaragoza Carme Santacruz – Jeanologia

The decision was based on several criteria, such as the impact of the finalists’ vision and storytelling and the actual marketability of the garments, created with the help of Creative Room™.

Responsible Innovation™ was an integral part of the designers’ projects as they tapped into ISKO™ premium fabrics, all of which are created implementing responsibility throughout every step of the production process. Part of these innovative fabrics is a special denim selection which led ISKO to be the first mill in the world to have achieved Nordic Swan and EU Ecolabel certifications.

The event and the winners

An engaging opening performance along with a glamorous catwalk showcasing all 17 creative fashion outfits initiated the Official Award Ceremony.

Exclusive host of the night was Matthew Modine, one of the stars of Netflix cult series Stranger Things, who has been referred to as “one of the best, most adaptable film actors of his generation” by NY Times film critic Vincent Canby. Matthew has worked with many of the film industry’s most acclaimed directors, has been nominated for three Golden Globes and is the recipient of one (Altman’s SHORT CUTS).

The announced winners were:

- Winner of the Best Overall Student Award: XIAOHUI LYU, BIFT – Beijing

Institute of Fashion Technology;

- Winner of the Best Overall Young Professional Award: ISABELLE VIENGXAY;

- Winner of the Best Showpiece: XIAOHUI LYU, BIFT – Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology;

- Winner of the Riri Award: BILGE HAKAN GURKAYNAK, POLIMODA;

- Winner of the Reca Award: IRENE DE VECCHI, NABA – Nuova Accademia di Belle Arti;

- Winner of the Vogue Talents Special Mention: XIAOHUI LYU, BIFT – Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology;

- Winner of the Sportswear International Special Mention: ALEX LUONTO, AALTO UNIVERSITY – School of Arts, Design and Architecture.

With responsibility and sustainability playing a major role in modern fashion, the jury also looked out for the designers who, through their capsule collections, best distinguished themselves for their take on sustainability.

Two finalists received high commendations for the Best Sustainable Design Award:

- Shirin Fakhradin Araghi, AMD - Akademie Mode & Design;

- Bilge Hakan Gurkaynak, POLIMODA.


Many ISKO I-SKOOL™ partnering players and brands awarded winners with internships – real opportunities to experience and change the industry from within.

Related News
Latest News Denim
More News from TEXDATA International
Latest News